Working Class Radical Feminism: Telling the Truth for a Change

Working Class Radical Feminism:
Telling the Truth for a Change

Bev Jo

This is a new blog I’ve started that has shorter, more condensed and ongoing articles. I’m posting here to spread the word….

https://keepingreallesbianfeminismsimple.wordpress.com/

This space is for women-born-women only and is about making Radical Feminism and other issues relevant to women be as clear, simple, direct, and honest as possible.

I try to keep things simple. There are many reasons for that. Convolution and academic styles of writing are unnecessarily confusing. They also weaken politics. (Class-privileged styles are usually more about bragging than clarity or honesty.)  I want to reach all females, including those who, because of oppression, haven’t had access to patriarchal “higher” education and those whose first language isn’t English. That was why I co-wrote wrote our book, Dykes-Loving-Dykes: Dyke Separatist Politics for Lesbians Only in direct, honest, and clear language. It’s also harder to lie about something that is clearly stated. https://bevjoradicallesbian.wordpress.com/

This is my second blog. My first has almost our entire book, updated 25 years later, but also has many newer articles that would be enough for another book or two. The articles are long and dense, so I wanted a blog with shorter articles that could be easily written and read, with links to my more complete articles for women who want to read more in depth.

My goal is to answer a lot of the questions I’m seeing Lesbians and other women ask online about Radical Feminism and other issues and to discuss any topics relevant to us.

Plus, with so many Radical Feminists being banned for months on facebook, this can be a way to continue community with articles to talk about. (So let me know if there are any guest posts you’d like to do.)

About Bev Jo

I’ve been a Lesbian from my earliest memories and am proud to be a Lesbian. Lesbians are my people and my blood. My life’s work has defending Lesbians and our culture and existence against those who oppress us. Working-class, ex-catholic, mostly European-descent (with some First Nations, probably Shawnee, ancestry), from poverty class culture. I’m a Lifelong Lesbian, born near Cincinnati, Ohio in 1950. I became lovers with my first lover in 1968, became part of a Lesbian community in 1970, and became a Dyke Separatist in 1972. I helped create Radical Lesbian Feminist and Separatist community and worked on some of the earliest Lesbian Feminist projects, such as the Lesbian Feminist Conference in Berkeley in 1972, the newspaper “Dykes and Gorgons” in 1973, the women’s bookstore, Lesbian coffeehouse, and taught self defense to women and girls for ten years. I’ve been published in journals and anthologies, including “For Lesbians Only,” “Finding the Lesbians,” “Lesbian Friendships,” “Amazones d’Hier, Lesbiennes Aujourd’hui,” “Mehr als das Herz Gebrochen,” the Journal for Lesbian Studies, Lesbian Ethics, Sinister Wisdom, Trivia, and Rain and Thunder. With Linda Strega and Ruston, I co-wrote our book, “Dykes-Loving-Dykes: Dyke Separatist Politics for Lesbians Only” in 1990. Our book and my more recent articles have been updated at my blog https://bevjoradicallesbian.wordpress.com/ I’ve been disabled since 1981 with ME/CFIDS (Myalgic Encephalomyelitis) and MCS (Multiple Chemical Sensitivity.) I love nature and plants and animals — and especially the animals who are feared and hated and killed by people who don’t even know them, just as Lesbians are. I’ve learned to love rats especially, who I do not consider inferior to humans. I’m a spiritual atheist, but I’ve found out that there is definitely life after death because a little rat returned from the dead for three days to comfort us. These hated little animals are so kind and loving, and willing to die for someone they love. I say, in our fight to protect the earth — distrust all “truths” we are taught by patriarchy. The true truth is often the opposite.
This entry was posted in Dykes-Loving-Dykes: Dyke Separatist Politics, Our book 25 years later with extensive additions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working Class Radical Feminism: Telling the Truth for a Change

  1. connie phillips says:

    Thank you, Bev Jo I deeply appreciate and rely on your work.  Your writings are so on time!  These are the pressing issues on my and my  partner’s minds.  I am a life-long lesbian separatist and Black revolutionary.  My partner is Brooklyn-Irish, a revolutionary and organizers. Thanks also for this new shortened version for those who can’t embrace the full book.  I cherish both!  My partner in I hope to offer some writing in the future.  Rain and Thunder collective reminded me you are here in the Bay Area.  We are in Oakland, have been for 37 and 29 years and feeling more isolated than ever thanks to imperialistic gentrifiers and hateful scowling FTM’s and Queers.  Twilight Zone!!!!!  Being older and with physical challenges seems to bring out the worst in them! The nerve. Your work helps us stay sane, powerful, and clear. Deepest Gratitude, Connie and Pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

